skip to content

Entry requirement:  2.1 Masters degree or equivalent

Please check international qualifications equivalence guidelines here.

Please contact if you have any questions surrounding our minimum requirements.

Coming to Cambridge for a PhD in Chemistry means you will be joining a community of over 50 academics, 350 PhD students and more than 200 postdoctoral researchers. The research opportunities are vast and career development is second to none. 

The route to a PhD takes up to four years of full-time research, culminating in a substantial thesis of up to 60,000 words which is examined by viva. Along your journey to a PhD, you will be absorbed in the laboratory life of your chosen research group. The postgraduate chemistry lecture series we offer aims to bring everyone up to the same high-level of foundational knowledge; irrespective of prior educational background at Masters level. You will present your research at seminars and conferences as you progress. Most PhD students go to at least one international and national chemistry conference in the course of their studies.

HOW TO APPLY  We strongly recommend that you correspond with potential supervisors early and well in advance of submitting your application. This is also important for maintaining oversight of which project you could be working on. Prospective projects may not always reflect groups publications therefore, we encourage you to discuss this with your potential supervisors to avoid dissappointment. 


Table of Academics accepting PhD Students



Physical & Atmospheric 



Prof. Sir Shankar Balsubramanian FRS

Dr Hugo Bronstein

Dr Alexander Archibald

Prof. Matthew Gaunt

Prof. Stuart Althorpe

Dr Paul Barker

Prof. Melinda Duer

Prof. Stuart Clarke

Prof. Jonathan Goodman

Dr Rosana Collepardo-Guevara

Dr Gonçalo Bernardes

Dr Alexander Forse

Dr Chiara Giorio

Prof. Christopher Hunter FRS

Dr Stephen Cox

Prof. Sophie Jackson

Prof. Clare Grey FRS

Prof. Stephen Jenkins

Dr Robert Phipps

Prof. Jonathan Goodman
Dr Pietro Sormanni

Prof. Jonathan Nitschke

Prof. Sir David Klenerman FRS

Prof. David Spring

Dr Robert Jack
Prof. Michele Vendruscolo

Prof. Erwin Reisner

Prof. Tuomas Knowles


Prof. Angelos Michaelides


Prof. Oren Scherman

Dr Steven Lee


Dr Aleks Reinhardt


Prof. Silvia Vignolini



Dr Alexander Thom


Dr Andrew Wheatley



Prof. David Wales FRS

  Prof. Dominic Wright    


  Dr Jenny Zhang