skip to content

Postgraduate Admissions

MPhil in Chemistry

Entry requirement: 2.1 Bachelor’s Honours degree or equivalent.

Please contact if you have any questions surrounding our minimum requirements.

This intensive one-year research MPhil in Chemistry prepares students for a career in the chemical sciences. You will conduct a substantial research project within the main themes of research ongoing in the department. The 15,000-word thesis you produce at the end of your project is examined by formal viva. 

Many students choose this MPhil programme as an access route for PhD study here or elsewhere. Others head off into the industrial sector, having gained solid expertise in laboratory and practical skills. Our chemistry education programme, including lectures and researcher development workshops, is open to all MPhil students, along with career development advice and mentoring.

HOW TO APPLY  We encourage you to correspond with potential supervisors early and well in advance of submitting your application


Table of Academics accepting MPhil Students






Prof. Shankar Balsubramanian FRS

Dr Hugo Bronstein

Dr Alexander Archibald

Prof. Matthew Gaunt

Prof. Stuart Althorpe

Dr Paul Barker

Prof. Melinda Duer

Prof. Stuart Clarke

Prof. Jonathan Goodman

Dr Andreas Bender

Dr Gonçalo Bernardes

Prof. Clare Grey FRS

Dr Stephen Jenkins

Prof. Christopher Hunter FRS

Dr Lucy Colwell

Prof. Christopher Dobson FRS

Prof. Jonathan Nitschke

Prof. Rod Jones

Prof. David Spring

Prof. Robert Glen

Prof. Sophie Jackson

Prof. Erwin Reisner

Prof. David Klenerman FRS


Dr Robert Jack

Dr Finian Leeper

Prof. Oren Scherman

Prof. Tuomas Knowles


Dr Alexander Thom

Prof. Michele Vendruscolo

Dr Silvia Vignolini

Dr Steven Lee


Prof. David Wales FRS


Dr Andrew Wheatley

Prof. John Pyle FRS




Prof. Dominic Wright

Dr Anja Schmidt



  Dr Jenny Zhang