skip to content

Department of Chemistry

Department News

1 of 5
previous pauseresume next

Image of the Royal Society in London courtesy Royal Society

The Royal Society Innovation Award scheme is open for scientists who wish to develop a proven novel concept through to commmercial use.

Read more

Image courtesy of L’Oréal UK & Ireland-UNESCO: Tanya Hutter (centre) with Mr Geoff Skingsley, Chairman L'Oréal UK & Ireland and Professor Dame Carol Robinson, Head of the Judging Panel.

Dr Tanya Hutter, a Darwin College Henslow Research Fellow in the department has been named one of the UK's most promising female scientists. 

Read more

Image of Royal Society courtesy Royal Society

The Department of Chemistry is seeking applications to support for Royal Society University Research Fellowships to be held in the department, starting in October 2017.  

Read more

Plasmonic nanocavity containing a dye molecule

A multi-disciplinary group of researchers, including chemists at the Melville Laboratory led by Professor Oren Scherman, have successfully used quantum states to mix molecules with light at room temperature.

Read more

Courtesy Gabriella Bocchetti

The department held an event in May to introduce postdoctoral researchers (postdocs) and academics who have volunteered to provide support to graduate students.

Read more