skip to content

2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Professors. Robert J. Lekowitz of Duke University & Brian K. Kobilka of Stanford have been awarded the 2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their studies of G-protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs).

These receptors allow cells in the body to sense and respond to outside signals and are the target for several commonly prescribed prescription drugs including beta blockers, antihistamines and antidepressants.