skip to content

Centre for Atmospheric Science


The Centre for Atmospheric Science

The Centre for Atmospheric Science (CAS) is a joint venture with the University of Cambridge.

The CAS was initially set up in 1993 between the Departments of Chemistry and Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, with the Department of Geography joining later. The CAS was set up with the aim of promoting environmental research, departmental work, and encouraging funding opportunities so we could continue to carry out high-quality research.

Picture of the departmental building during sunset

We have a number of active research groups working in the Centre from a range of different departments, alongside numerous research associates, collaborating academics and independent researchers. 


Department of Chemistry: Atmospheric Chemistry Research Group

The Atmospheric Chemistry Research Group (ACRG) has a very active research program into all aspects of atmospheric chemistry, such as modelling studies of stratospheric and tropospheric chemistry, using 1D, 2D and 3D models.

The group builds its own instruments for observations of chemical constituents in the atmosphere and is conducting research into the kinetics of reactions important for atmospheric chemistry.


Department of Chemistry: Climate Change Policy Group

The Climate Change Policy Group (CCPG) is undertaking several important research projects, collaborating with partners around the globe. For example, the group has active research into climate modelling scenarios and improving the performance of IAMs. Read more about the CCPG on their dedicated page.


Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics

In the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, scientists are engaged in studying fundamental dynamical processes. For example, mixing processes in atmosphere and the development of new gravity wave parametrizations for atmospheric models.


Department of Geography

In the Department of Geography, research is being carried out into small scale processes such as mixing within plumes and application to volcanic eruptions.



Prof. Peter Haynes is the Co-Director of the Centre for Atmospheric Science and a member of the Department of the Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics. Contact him for details of PhD and post-doctoral positions available in DAMTP. His email address is:

Prof. Alex Archibald is the Group Leader for the Atmospheric Chemistry Research Group. His email address is:

Dr. Annela Anger-Kraavi is the Group Leader for the Climate Change Policy Group. Her email address is:

For general enquiries into the Centre for Atmospheric Science, please email: 

Centre Highlights

• Nov 22nd 2021: Dr Anger-Kraavi has co-authored a paper with Paris Reinforce. Read the open access version here

• Nov 3rd 2021: Watch Dr Anger-Kraavi at the COP26 side event: Accelerating Implementation of the Paris Agreement - Ambition and Just Transitions via YouTube.

• Oct 18th 2021: Watch Dr Anger-Kraavi on Cambridge Talks: Can leaders turn Paris ambition into Glasgow action at COP26? via YouTube.

• Oct 11th 2021: Listen to the CCPG's Dr Anger-Kraavi speak about the upcoming COP26 on Tyndall Talks via Spotify.

• April 24th 2021: Listen to Dr Anger-Kraavi speak about the cost of climate reform on the BBC's The Real Story via their website

• May 14th 2020: Watch Dr Chiara Giorio speak about climate, ice cores and atmospheric particles on YouTube

Want to know more about our high-profile publications? Check out our Publication Highlights!