skip to content

Centre for Atmospheric Science

John Pyle smiling at camera

We are hosting a symposium on Friday 12 April 2024 to mark the scientific contributions of Professor John Pyle, who has retired as the 1920 Chair in Physical Chemistry.

The symposium will feature a day of talks in the Yusuf Hamied Department of Chemistry followed by a reception in the department and dinner at St Catharine's College. Registration for the symposium is free to all.

Date and timing

Friday 12 April 2024
  • 9am: Arrival and coffee
  • 9:30: Introduction, poster session and talks
  • 18:00: Reception in the department
  • 19:30: Dinner St. Catharine's College

Confirmed speakers

  • Martyn Chipperfield, Professor in School of Earth and Environment, University of Leeds
  • Lesley Gray, Emeritus Professor University of Oxford and Senior Research Scientist of the National Centre for Atmospheric Science
  • Neil Harris, Professor of Atmospheric Informatics, Cranfield University
  • Peter Haynes, Professor of Applied Mathematics, University of Cambridge
  • Kathy Law, Laboratoire atmosphères, milieux, observations spatiales, Sorbonne University
  • Amanda Maycock, Professor in Climate Dynamics, University of Leeds
  • Paul A. Newman, Chief Scientist for Atmospheric Sciences, NASA Goddard
  • Michael J. Prather, Distinguished Professor of Earth System Science, University of California, Irvine
  • Susan Solomon, Lee and Geraldine Martin Professor of Environmental Studies, Chair of the Program in Atmospheres, Oceans and Climate, MIT


For further information or to register, please email

Below: Atmospheric Chemistry Modelling Group 1988

Above: Centre for Atmospheric chemistry group members in early 2000s


Want to know more about our high-profile publications? Check out our Publication Highlights!