skip to content

Members of the committee 


We are the Postdoc Affairs Committee, also known as PDAC.  We represent contract research staff in the Department of Chemistry.  

Membership and remit

We are made up of a team of postdoctoral researchers, who volunteer to be on the committee.  Our academic adviser is Dr Nick Bampos, and the department provides administrative and strategic support.  Our remit is to be a forum to consider and discuss issues that are important to postdocs in the department, and to keep the Head of Department and Senior Management Team informed of postdocs' views and concerns.

Issues covered

We have a diverse postdoc community with a wide variety of concerns, and we are happy to hear what concerns you.  We have found the following issues are especially relevant to postdocs:

Committee members:

Dr Nick Bampos

Dr Steven Barrow

Dr Maria Matos

Dr Michael Thomas Lee Casford

Dr Janet Kumita

Dr Israel Temprano Farina 

Dr Nitin Sharma

Dr Margarida Rodrigues

Mrs Kathleen Pickett - administrative support

Meeting dates 2017:

Tuesday 24 January 2017, 10am-12pm, U203 - Minutes

Thursday 30 March 2017, 10am-12pm, U203

Thursday 25 May 2017, 10am-12pm, U203

Tuesday 18 July 2017, 10am-12pm, U203

Tuesday 26 September 2017, 10am-12pm, U203

Tuesday 21 November 2017, 10am-12pm, U203

Contact us:

  • We need to know about the important issues affecting you.  Help us by getting in touch and telling us what you think.  Please do come along to PDAC events, including our regular lunches, to meet members of the committee and fellow postdocs.  Or get involved yourself!
  • Visit our committee page for meeting agendas and minutes.  All committee meetings are open to all postdocs.
  • Email PDAC at, or contact members individually.