skip to content

The Grey group studies the nature of solid state materials by nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR), X-ray and Neutron scattering, electron microscopy and computational calculations. The materials we investigate have applications in supercapacitors, fuel cells, and batteries. 

Our current research projects are described here and a full list of publications is available here. We currently have 49 group members including 3 Master students, 22 PhD students (11 students being co-supervised) and 21 Post-Doctoral researchers all listed here. The group is very dynamic and also very international with almost 20 nationalities represented.

Recent News:

One of our group member, Dr David Hall, was recently featured on the Naked Scientists podcast, where he discussed how electric car batteries work.

Welcome to Dominic Hey who joined the group as a PhD student in January.

Congratulations to Dr Phillip Reeves who successfully defended his PhD viva on the 6th of December 2019!

Congratulations to Dr Simon Engelke who successfully defended his PhD viva on the 15th of November 2019!

Congratulations to Dr Nis-Julian Kneusels who successfully defended his PhD viva on the 11th of October 2019!

Welcome to all the new PhD students Richard Chen, James Ellison, Dongxun Lyu, Alice Merryweather, Ben Smith, and Holly Smith who joined the Grey Group in October.

Welcome to the Part III students Meredydd Jones and Tamsin Newlove who joined the group in October.

Welcome to Dr Chinwe A. Nwanya who is visiting from the University of Nigera, Nsukka. She will be visiting for two months under the Cambridge-Africa ALBORADA Research Fund. She will be synthesizing some sodium based layered oxide materials and studying them in an aqueous battery system in real time using NMR and in-situ XRD.

Congratulation to Anna Gunnarsdottir who won an oral presentation prize during the Physical RIG Showcase Symposium held on Monday 26th September 2019.

Congratulations to Dr Yanting Jin for winning one of the Departmental Highly Commended PhD Thesis Awards for 2019 - a recognition of the remarkable contribution of her PhD thesis in the field of material science! The awards were given to the recipients during the Materials RIG Showcase Symposium held on Thursday 29th September 2019.

Congratulations to Anna Gunnarsdottir and Rajesh Jethwa who won oral presentation prizes in the SE-lectrochem 2019 conference at Imperial College London.

Related Publications 

Characterizing the Structure and Phase Transition of Li2RuO3 Using Variable-Temperature 17O and 7Li NMR Spectroscopy
PJ Reeves, ID Seymour, KJ Griffith, CP Grey – Chemistry of Materials (2019) 31, 2814
Evolution of Structure and Lithium Dynamics in LiNi0.8Mn0.1Co0.1O2 (NMC811) Cathodes during Electrochemical Cycling
K Märker, PJ Reeves, C Xu, KJ Griffith, CP Grey – Chemistry of Materials (2019) 31, 2545
Unraveling the Reaction Mechanisms of SiO Anodes for Li-Ion Batteries by Combining in Situ 7Li and ex Situ 7Li/29Si Solid-State NMR Spectroscopy
K Kitada, O Pecher, PCMM Magusin, MF Groh, RS Weatherup, CP Grey – J Am Chem Soc (2019) 141, 7014
Variable-temperature multinuclear solid-state NMR study of oxide ion dynamics in fluorite-type bismuth vanadate and phosphate solid electrolytes
MT Dunstan, DM Halat, ML Tate, IR Evans, CP Grey – Chemistry of Materials (2019) 31, 1704
Layered CeSO and LiCeSO Oxide Chalcogenides Obtained via Topotactic Oxidative and Reductive Transformations
SJ Cassidy, MJ Pitcher, JJK Lim, J Hadermann, JP Allen, GW Watson, S Britto, EJ Chong, DG Free, CP Grey, SJ Clarke – Inorganic Chemistry (2019) 58, 3838
Understanding LiOH Formation in a Li-O-2 Battery with LiI and H2O Additives
T Liu, G Kim, E Jónsson, E Castillo-Martinez, I Temprano, Y Shao, J Carretero-González, RN Kerber, CP Grey – ACS Catalysis (2018) 8, 66
Niobium tungsten oxides for high-rate lithium-ion energy storage
KJ Griffith, KM Wiaderek, G Cibin, LE Marbella, CP Grey – Nature (2018) 559, 556
(De)Sodiation via Helical Phosphorus Intermediates in High Capacity Anodes for Sodium-ion Batteries
LE Marbella, ML Evans, MF Groh, J Nelson, KJ Griffith, AJ Morris, CP Grey – J Am Chem Soc (2018) 140, 7994